KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship field glitters with 30 major champions, 11 Hall of Famers but no Mickelson

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

By Ken MacLeod

There will be at least 30 major champions and 11 World Golf Hall of Famers competing when the KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship kicks off May 27-30 at Southern Hills Country Club.

The PGA of America released a list of 141 of the 156-man field that includes those who have qualified for and confirmed participation in the event.

It will be hard to walk the range without bumping into several major champions. There are also five players who have won more than one of golf’s four major championships, including Angel Cabrera, Ernie Els, Sandy Lyle, Mark O’Meara and Vijay Singh.

“I’ve been involved with this event going back to 2015 and based on the list we have today it’s about as strong as it could get,” said Bryan Karns, championship director. “Having 30 guys who have won major championships along with 11 players who are already in the Hall of Fame is extremely strong.”

Alas, one player with five major championships not on the list is Phil Mickelson. He did not confirm by Monday’s deadline, meaning he is no longer expected to compete in the event barring an exemption by the PGA of America. In other words, if he really wants in at the end, it’s likely a spot will be found, but he did not follow protocol to enter.

Four of the remaining 15 spots will go to the winners of four Champions Tour events this spring if not already qualified. The remainder will go to players whom the PGA of America deems deserve a special exemption.

The Hall of Fame players confirmed are Fred Couples, Ernie Els, Retief Goosen, Tom Kite, Bernhard Langer, Davis Love III, Sandy Lyle, Colin Montgomerie, Jose Maria Olazabal, Mark O’Meaa and Vijay Singh.

For ticket information, go to

Major Championship winners: 

Rich Beem (2012 PGA Championship)

Mark Brooks (1996 PGA Championship)

Angel Cabrera (2009 The Master, 2007 U.S. Open)

Mark Calcavecchia (1989 The Open)

Michael Campbell (2005 U.S. Open)

Darren Clarke (2011 The Open)

Fred Couples (1992 The Masters)

John Daly (1991 PGA Championship, 1995 The Open)

Ernie Els (1994, 1997 U.S. Open, 2002, 2012 The Open)

Jim Furyk 2003 U.S. Open)

Retief Goosen (2007 U.S. Open)

Todd Hamilton (2004 The Open)

Lee Janzen (1998 U.S. Open)

Steve Jones (1996 U.S. Open)

Tom Kite (1992 U.S. Open)

Bernhard Langer (1985, 1993 The Masters)

Paul Lawrie (1999 The Open)

Tom Lehman (1996 The Open)

Davis Love, III (1997 PGA Championship)

Sandy Lyle (1988 The Masters, 1985 The Open)

Shaun Micheel (2003 PGA Championship)

Larry Mize (1987 The Masters)

Mark O’Meara (1998 The Masters, 1998 The Open)

Jose Maria Olazabal (1999 The Masters)

Corey Pavin (1995 U.S. Open)

Scott Simpson (1987 U.S. Open)

Vijay Singh (2000 The Masters, 1998, 2004 PGA Championship)

Jeff Sluman (1988 PGA Championship)

David Toms (2001 PGA Championship)

Mike Weir (2003 The Masters)

For the complete field, click here.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source