Sooners edge Cowboys, Longhorns for Big 12 title at Whispering Pines

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma


Final results:

TRINITY, Texas — For the 18th time in school history, the Oklahoma men’s golf team is the champion of the Big 12 Conference. In a roller coaster of a final round, the top-ranked Sooners erased a four-shot deficit over the last four holes to knock off three other top-10 teams and win the conference crown.

Late birdies down the stretch from Logan McAllister and freshman Drew Goodman proved pivotal as the Sooners (-14, 850) played the last four holes 3-over, but the Longhorns finished their final four holes 8-over and No. 2 Oklahoma State closed 2-over to deliver the title to Oklahoma.

“Today was absolutely an emotional roller coaster,” head coach Ryan Hybl said after the win. “We had the best start we could ever ask for which allowed us to get out in front. All of our guys did an amazing job this week and gave us a chance today and we seized the moment. We talked last night about how we had earned each other’s trust throughout the year, so there was nothing to worry about since we knew each of us trusted and believed in each other. Today, we did that and more.”

A trio of Sooners earned All-Tournament Team honors by finishing inside the top 10. Chris Gotterup, the redshirt senior transfer from Rutgers, finished as the Big 12 runner-up, while Logan McAllister finished sixth and Patrick Welch grabbed a share of ninth. Goodman finished in a tie for 11th, while Stephen Campbell Jr. posted a top-20 finish by finishing 18th. The Sooners’ three golfers inside the top 10 were tied with Oklahoma State for the most in the field.

OU entered Wednesday’s final round one shot behind the Longhorns but quickly closed the gap by tallying six birdies on its first three holes. The Sooners played the front at 9-under par and grew the lead to seven shots, climbing to 20-under for the tournament at the turn. But the Longhorns caught fire as teams played the back nine, playing Nos. 10 thru 14 a near-perfect 9-under to take a four-stroke lead over Hybl’s team. But Texas wouldn’t sink a single birdie after the 14th hole, and Oklahoma used birdies from Gotterup, McAllister and Goodman, paired with some Texas mistakes to close the gap.

It’s Oklahoma first conference championship since 2018 and the second of the Ryan Hybl era. The win marks OU’s sixth of the season, which is the second-most in program history when including regular season and postseason wins. The 1989 national championship team won seven total events.

Top-ranked Oklahoma shot 6-under par as a team Wednesday in edging No. 2 Oklahoma State by two strokes, 850-852, in the team scoring.

Texas, which entered the final 18 holes in first place, finished third with an 853.

Gotterup finished two strokes behind champion Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech. Aberg finished the tournament with an 8-under 208. Logan McAllister helped the Sooners’ cause Wednesday by tying for sixth place with a 3-under 213, including a birdie at the 18th hole in his final round of 69.

Welch shot 2-under 70, freshman Goodman survived a rugged 3-hole stretch to finish at 1-over 73 and Campbell struggled to a 78. The Sooners made 16 birdies on the front side to take command and seven key birdies on the back nine kept the slim advantage.

Bo Jin was Oklahoma State’s top finisher with a 5-under 211. He finished in a third-place tie with Texas’ Cole Hammer.

Oklahoma State carded a 282 during its final round.  The Cowboys’ 6-under tally matched Oklahoma for the low round of the day at the par-72, 7,434-yard layout. OSU finished with a 54-hole total of 852, 12-under par, and two shots behind the Sooners in the team race. Texas was third at 853.

OSU had won the previous two conference championships with victories in 2019 and 2021 after finishing second in 2016, 2017 and 2018. Overall, the Cowboys now have seven second-place showings to go along with their 11 Big 12 titles.

After earning a runner-up finish as a freshman last season, Bo Jin once again led the Cowboy lineup, tying for third place at 5-under 211. The sophomore finished three shots behind Texas Tech’s Ludvig Aberg for medalist honors.

Jin closed with a 4-under 68 to move up six spots on the final day. After starting his round with five consecutive pars, he made his lone bogey on the front nine at the sixth and turned in 1-under 35. On his inward nine, Jin birdied three of the first five holes before carding his lone bogey of the day at the 16th. He would bounce back with a birdie at the 18th to move back to 4-under for the day.

With his  showing, Jin has now finished among the top three in all four of his career postseason starts after earning runner-up finishes at the Big 12 Championship, the NCAA Stillwater Regional and the NCAA Championship a year ago.

Senior Aman Gupta joined Jin in the top five after carding a 72 during his third round. Gupta finished at 4-under 212 and alone in fifth place.

One shot off the pace of Gupta was classmate Eugenio Chacarra, who carded a closing 70 to finish at 213 and tied for sixth place.

For both Gupta and Chacarra, the finishes marked the second year in a row they have been among the top 10 at the event after sharing 10th a year ago.

Junior Brian Stark grabbed sole possession of 13th place at 216 after finishing with a 72.

Sophomore Jonas Baumgartner entered the lineup as a substitute on Wednesday and carded an even-par 72.


Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source