Payne dissects Meadowbrook to win 5A crown, Comets roll to team title

Like and Follow Golf Oklahoma

By Ken MacLeod

Parker Payne of Noble won the battle of precocious freshman, navigating a 4-over 75 in cold, wet and windy conditions at Meadowbrook Country Club Tuesday to finish the Class 5A state championship at 2-under 211.

That left him as the only player in the field under par and five shots clear of fellow freshman Will Hennessee of Bishop Kelley, who also managed a 75 in the final round, which was postponed for nearly four hours by heavy rains.

Hennessee did lead the Comets to a convincing win in the team race, the school’s eighth state championship and the fourth under coach Shawn Lawhorn, with the most recent being in 2017.

Payne opened Monday with bogey-free rounds of 70-66, staggeringly good for the tight confines of Meadowbrook, especially with a stiff north wind. He had played the same course in the 5A preview in “78-80 something.”

5A Individual champion Parker Payne of Noble.

“I just really had the driver going well both days, which you have to do here because it’s so tight, and so many trees everywhere,” Payne said. “You just have to put the ball in the fairway and if you do miss, you have to miss in the right spots.

“My mindset today was just to make all pars and see if that would get me through, and it did.”

Payne made his first bogey of the tournament on his first hole early Tuesday, made another and was actually glad for the rain delay to settle his nerves. He promptly birdied the par-5 13th after the delay and played steady down the stretch.

Payne, who plays out of Jimmie Austin OU Golf Course in Norman and is a Sooner fan, knows Hennessee from junior golf and had watched him destroy the field in the 5A preview. He knew he would have to elevate his game to beat him and he did just that.

Hennessee, who opened with rounds of 69-72 to sit at 1-under, also showed composure in the final round but narrowly missed on several mid-range birdie putts and had a tee shot on the par-4 16th hit a tree and bounce into a water hazard, effectively ending his chances.

The Comets won the team championship with a score of 928, 29 shots ahead of the Duncan Demons. Matt Barlow shot a final round 78, Max McGinty 83 and David Bryan 85 for the champions. It was the team’s seventh victory in nine events this season.

“Meadowbrook is a lot tighter than anything we play on a regular basis in 5A,” Lawhorn said. “I’ve got to give all the kids credit, we played really well in these conditions. We were pretty relaxed after getting that lead in yesterday’s second round (a tournament low round of 300). It was good to have some breathing room on Duncan, they’re a good team.”

Payne may be a freshman, but said his parents put a club in his hand at 14 months old. The state championship was his third victory of the season, and leaves the door open to become a rare four-time state champion.

“That’s the goal now,” he said. “It obviously will be hard, but at least there’s a chance.”

Gus Fritz of Shawnee placed third individually at 223 after rounds of 72-75-76.

Photos by Bill Powell



TEAMRound 1Round 2Round 3TOTAL
Bishop Kelley307300321928
Bishop McGuinness3353403581033
Carl Albert3733803991152


PLAYER (TEAM)Round 1Round 2Round 3TOTAL
Parker Payne (Noble)706675211
Will Hennessee (Bishop Kelley)697275216
Gus Fritz (Shawnee)727576223
Matt Barlow (Bishop Kelley)738078231
Brady Hirzel (Guthrie)737883234
Izaac White (Duncan)757784236
Trevor Lorenz (Noble)788078236
Cason Keel (Durant)777882237
Caden Stevens (Duncan)827977238
Brandon Aikens (Glenpool)807884242
Max McGinty (Bishop Kelley)857583243
Carson Lee (Bishop McGuinness)797886243
Bryce Carr (Duncan)767691243
David Bryan (Bishop Kelley)827785244
Anthony Manipella (Edison Prep)808282244
Evan Weaver (Pryor)847883245
Jaret Dean (Guthrie)767694246
Cole Wipfli (Carl Albert)768091247
Baylor Bostick (Duncan)778585247
Owen Beecroft (Bishop Kelley)837691250
Gunner Hamon (Altus)788986253
Joseph Harroz (Bishop McGuinness)848586255
Christian Gotcher (Claremore)868090256
Jace Black (Duncan)758697258
Brian Aikens (Glenpool)897990258
Jaxson Hirzel (Guthrie)908484258
Beau Dale (Guthrie)848888260
Riggs Affolder (Bishop McGuinness)878789263
Weston Neveu (Collinsville)879186264
Brett Bolin (Tahlequah)898594268
Gannon Wallace (Guymon)948689269
Mason Barney (Guthrie)858699270
Easton Bull (Altus)878599271
Matthew Williams (Bishop McGuinness)859097272
Nash Kauffman (Guymon)839595273
Ethan Moen (Ardmore)929587274
Prenav Dahya (Ardmore)899491274
Caden Nossaman (Carl Albert)919292275
Ramsey Ward (Ardmore)949191276
Jake Bays (Collinsville)919492277
Zane White (Durant)879595277
Hayden Rodriguez (Piedmont)988297277
Christian Frankhauser (Coweta)929098280
Derek Johnson (Piedmont)949393280
Erik Loper (Piedmont)959392280
Mason Trent (Glenpool)978995281
Levi Craig (Collinsville)889995282
Jack Vance (Tahlequah)1028994285
Joey Mars (Piedmont)979396286
Jason Greer (Pryor)979396286
Byke Burrow (Altus)1029393288
Hayden Miller (Altus)9610094290
Alex Byington (Collinsville)1029198291
Bray Davis (Altus)9410098292
Landon Primeaux (Shawnee)9791105293
Dex Dotson (Tahlequah)9310498295
Dax Sills (Collinsville)9794105296
Ryan Dark (Tahlequah)9395108296
Luke Hooker (Carl Albert)9810198297
Hayden Abraham (Claremore)9395109297
Levi Helms (Durant)9897102297
Cade Mashburn (Tahlequah)9810694298
Will Graves (Sapulpa)9598107300
Matthew Sheehy (Ardmore)10797103307
Daxton Nimz (Piedmont)101101105307
Chase Eisel (Durant)101114100315
Kyson Leonard (Durant)101106114321
Dallon Briswell (El Reno)11389120322
Luke Wienecke (Bishop McGuinness)106117108331
Holden Camp (Glenpool)113111107331
Jake Curling (Carl Albert)108107118333
JW Stevens (Glenpool)110115108333
Bryan Richardson (El Reno)116121113350
Jackson Hurt (Ardmore)119120128367
Tucker Barbee (Carl Albert)115128131374

Facebook Comments
Receive Our eNews!

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

Ken MacLeod

Publisher Golf Oklahoma | Oklahoma's No. 1 Golf Source